Skip to main content
Slider-Partial

WINGAS Cup

8. to 10. August 2017
Eissporthalle Kassel

“We will try to win every game we play”

The Kassel Eissporthalle ice rink will host the WINGAS Cup for the first time from 8 to 10 August. For the hosts, the Kassel Huskies, the tournament offers a host of opportunities, as Manager Joe Gibbs explains in an interview.

 

Mr. Gibbs, what role does the new WINGAS Cup play for the region and ice hockey in Germany?

The tournament is important not only for Kassel, but for all of North Hesse. It will also be a godsend for the sport in Germany. Top-class teams like Dinamo Riga, HC Slovan Bratislava and HC Vityaz don’t come to Germany very often. And if they do, then maybe to Munich, but not to a city the size of Kassel. Nor do clubs in the Kontinental Hockey League usually play against second-division teams. That’s why participating in the WINGAS Cup is a real privilege for us.

 

How do you rate the three guest clubs and what are your team’s chances of winning the tournament?

The guests are, of course, much better that us. After all, the KHL is the second-best league in the world with 34 teams from all over Eastern Europe, but also from Finland. A Chinese team even joined the league just recently. That means we’re clearly the underdogs. But that doesn’t mean we don’t stand a chance at all. Needless to say, we’ll try to win every game we play. That’s what’s so great about sport – you never know how things will turn out.

 

How does the tournament benefit the Huskies in sporting terms?

We see it as a benchmark of where we stand in terms of performance and how we might do in the new season. We as a club and our players can gain valuable experience from the tournament. We recognize our strengths and weaknesses – for example, what shape the team is in and how it’s playing, and how we perform in power plays, in other words, when we have more or fewer players on the ice than the opponent. All our players are highly motivated and looking forward to the WINGAS Cup.

 

What does organizing such an event mean for your club?

We can learn a lot in terms of organization, because we’re responsible for a host of different things: taking care of the referees, the catering in the arena, providing security, paramedics and volunteer stewards, and arranging accommodation for the guest teams.  WINGAS has given us a great deal of help in every aspect.

 

How many spectators are you expecting?

The interest is huge, also in the media. For games at midday or in the afternoon, we expect to have 1,000 to 1,500 spectators. For the evening games, when the Huskies are playing, we expect around 2,000 spectators. Many of them will be from outside our region, hopefully including fans of the KHL teams, even if it’s a long way to come for them.

 

What can the spectators look forward to?

A high level of play. And the opportunity to experience Maxim Afinogenov and Andrej Meszároš live. It also promises to be exciting for fans of the Kassel Huskies seeing our new players in action for the first time. And when else do you have ice hockey in the middle of summer? Normally, we have a two-week training camp before the new season starts. Because of the WINGAS Cup, everything is earlier this year. We start training on 1 August and have our first game a week later.

Skip to main content
Slider-Partial

WINGAS-Cup

8. bis 10. August 2017
Eissporthalle Kassel

„Wir werden bei jedem Spiel versuchen zu gewinnen“

Vom 8. bis 10. August wird in der Kasseler Eissporthalle erstmals der WINGAS-Cup ausgetragen. Für die Kassel Huskies als Gastgeber bietet das Turnier viele Chancen, wie Geschäftsführer Joe Gibbs im Interview erklärt.

Herr Gibbs, welche Rolle spielt der neue WINGAS-Cup für die Region und für den deutschen Eishockeysport?

Das Turnier ist nicht nur für Kassel wichtig, sondern für ganz Nordhessen. Auch für den deutschen Eishockeysport ist das Turnier ein Glücksfall. So hochklassige Mannschaften wie Dinamo Riga, HC Slovan Bratislava und HC Vityaz kommen nur selten nach Deutschland. Und wenn, dann vielleicht nach München, aber nicht in eine Stadt von der Größe Kassels. Clubs der Kontinental Hockey League spielen üblicherweise auch nicht gegen Zweitliga-Teams. Darum ist die Teilnahme am WINGAS-Cup ein Privileg für uns.

 

Wie sind die drei Gastvereine sportlich einzuschätzen und welche Chancen auf den Turniersieg rechnen Sie Ihren Huskies aus?

Die Gäste haben natürlich mehr Qualität als wir. Schließlich ist die KHL die zweitbeste Liga der Welt, mit 34 Teams aus ganz Osteuropa, aber zum Beispiel auch aus Finnland. Neuerdings ist sogar eine chinesische Mannschaft dabei. Wir sind also eindeutig die Underdogs. Aber wir sind nicht komplett chancenlos. Selbstverständlich werden wir bei jedem Spiel versuchen zu gewinnen. Das ist ja das Schöne im Sport: Man weiß nie, wie es ausgeht.

 

Was bringt den Huskies das Turnier in sportlicher Hinsicht?

Wir sehen es als Benchmark, wo wir leistungsmäßig stehen und wie wir vielleicht in der neuen Saison abschneiden werden. Wir als Verein und auch unsere Spieler können durch das Turnier wertvolle Erfahrungen sammeln. Wir erkennen unsere Schwächen und Stärken. Etwa wie es mit der Kondition und Spielfähigkeit des Teams aussieht und wie wir im Powerplay spielen, also wenn wir in Über- oder Unterzahl sind. Alle Spieler sind sehr motiviert und freuen sich auf den WINGAS-Cup.

 

Was bedeutet die Organisation eines solchen Events für Ihren Verein?

Wir können organisatorisch lernen, denn wir kümmern uns um viele verschiedene Dinge: die Schiedsrichterbetreuung, das Catering im Stadion, die Bereitstellung von Sicherheitsdienst, Sanitätern und ehrenamtlichen Ordnern und um die Unterbringung der Gastmannschaften.  Zudem hat uns WINGAS in jeder Hinsicht tatkräftig unterstützt.

  

Wie viele Zuschauer erwarten Sie?

Das Interesse ist riesengroß, auch bei den Medien. Bei den Spielen, die mittags beziehungsweise nachmittags stattfinden, rechnen wir mit 1000 bis 1500 Zuschauern. Zu den Abendspielen, wenn die Huskies spielen, erwarten wir rund 2000 Zuschauer. Viele davon werden von auswärts kommen, darunter hoffentlich auch Anhänger der KHL-Teams. Auch wenn die Anreise für sie natürlich ganz schön weit ist.

 

Worauf dürfen sich die Zuschauer freuen?

Auf ein hohes spielerisches Niveau. Und auf die Gelegenheit, so Maxim Afinogenov und Andrej Meszároš live zu erleben. Für Fans der Kassel Huskies dürfte es außerdem spannend sein, unsere Neuzugänge zum ersten Mal spielen zu sehen. Und wann gibt es schon Eishockey mitten im Sommer? Normalerweise absolvieren wir zwei Wochen Trainingslager und starten dann in die neue Saison. Durch den WINGAS-Cup ist diesmal alles früher: Wir beginnen am 1. August mit dem Training und haben schon eine Woche später unser erstes Spiel.